Frank E. Kilroe Mile Betting Guide

The Frank E. Kilroe Mile is one of the most competitive races at the early stage of the season, as the race typically takes place in March at Santa Anita. The 2021 renewal has already taken place, but we can examine past trends to identify a potential winner in 2022.

Frank E. Kilroe Mile Event Details

The Frank E. Kilroe Mile is a Grade 1 race in the United States that takes place in March, which offers a purse of $400,000. This race is run over one mile on turf and takes place at Santa Anita. The field is made up of horses that are aged four and older, with both male and female horses able to enter the race.

Frank E. Kilroe Mile Preview

The 2021 renewal of the race was a captivating affair, and that promises to continue in 2022, as a talented field will once again make up the Frank E. Kilroe Mile. However, since entries for the race will not be made until early in 2022, we can examine the previous winners of the race to help find trends.

  • Hit The Road (2021)

  • River Boyne (2020)

  • Ohio (2019)

  • Bowies Hero (2018)

  • Bal a Bali (2017)

The winner of the race in 2021 was Hit The Road for trainer Dan Blacker. Florent Geroux rode the horse to glory in a time of 1:34.48, which was the slowest winning time of this race since 2016. The four-year-old was a slight shock winner of the race, as many expected Smooth Like Strait to win the Grade 1. However, the heavy favorite for the race was beaten by a neck.

Hit The Road warmed up for the Frank E. Kilroe Mile by winning the G3 Thunder Road Stakes, while he also ran in the G3 Cecil B DeMille Stakes at Del Mar at the end of 2019. He was the third four-year-old to win the race since 2010, following in the footsteps of Bowies Hero and Ring Weekend. Four-year-old horses have been the most successful in the past five years, as it is the only age that has produced more than one winner.

Five-year-olds have been most successful since 2010, as six winners in the past eleven years have been that age. The most recent five-year-old winner came in 2020, as River Boyne won for trainer Jeff Mullins.

The breed of the horse could be most important to study when assessing the contenders for the Frank E. Kilroe Mile, as internationally bred horses have performed excellently throughout the history of the race. Brazilian-bred horses have been successful since 2010, with Ohio, Bal a Bali, and Fluke all being bred in the South American country.

Further South American success can be found by Argentinean-bred winners, such as Winning Prize and Suggestive Boy, who won in 2014 and 2013, respectively.

European-bred horses have also performed well in this race, with Proviso, Milk It Mick, and Sweet Return all being British-bred winners since 2000. Irish-bred horses have also won the race, as Willyconker in 2012 was the most recent winner. Eight of the winners of this race since 2010 have been bred outside of the United States.

Frank E. Kilroe Mile Event Information

The Frank E. Kilroe Mile was introduced onto the American racing calendar in 1960, where it was previously known as the Arcadia Handicap. However, it was renamed in honor of Frank E. Kilroe in 2000. Kilroe was the handicapper and secretary at Santa Anita between 1953 and 1990.

It was previously run as a handicap between 1960 and 2009, but it was switched to a stakes race with an allowance in 2010. The distance that is covered in the race has also changed throughout the history of the Frank E. Kilroe Mile. It was previously run over 1 ¼ miles, before it was reduced to a mile in 1987. The race has also taken place on dirt on five occasions due to weather conditions. The Frank E. Kilroe Mile was finally awarded as a Grade 1 back in 2005.

History was made in 2010 when Proviso became the first female winner. Meanwhile, the speed record is held by Atticus, who ran the Frank E. Kilroe Mile in a time of 1:31.89 in 1997. Ga Hai is the only horse to have won this race on two occasions. Meanwhile, Charles Whittingham and Laffit Pincay Jr are the leading trainer and jockey, respectively.

Frank E. Kilroe Mile Betting Information

The Frank E. Kilroe Mile is one of the most exciting Grade 1s in the early part of the year, and therefore, it is an interesting betting race for gamblers. All of the leading sportsbooks will offer a variety of markets to make wagers, and below, you can learn about some of the options available.

Win: Gamblers can place a bet on a selection to win the Frank E. Kilroe Mile.

Place: Many sportsbooks will offer two places on the Frank E. Kilroe Mile. That means gamblers must bet on a horse that will finish in first or second.

Exacta: Gamblers can place a bet on the Exacta market for the Frank E. Kilroe Mile. Bets must correctly predict the horses that will finish in first and second.