Diana Stakes Betting Guide

The Diana Stakes is one of the featured turf races of the season in the United States. You can find out all about the Grade 1 in this article, including the betting trends that could help you find the winner of the 2021 renewal.

Diana Stakes Event Details

The Diana Stakes is a Grade 1 race that is open to fillies and mares aged three and older. Runners will complete a distance of 1 1/8 miles in this race, and it is run at Saratoga Race Course, New York. Horses involved in this race will compete for the purse of $500,000. The 2021 renewal of the Diana Stakes will take place on July 17th.

Diana Stakes Preview

A final decision on the runners that will be competing in the Diana Stakes will not be made until early July. However, history has shown that runners that have competed in previous renewals have often returned to win two on the bounce. Therefore, we can speculate that the following horses will be competing for the Diana Stakes in 2021:

  • Rushing Fall

  • Mean Mary

  • Sistercharlie

  • Audarya

Rushing Fall could be the horse at the top of the betting for the 2021 renewal of the Diana Stakes. This six-year-old is trained by Chad Brown and is yet to reappear this season. She enjoyed an excellent 2020 season, as she won three from four starts. Her biggest win came in the Diana Stakes, as she won by a neck from Mean Mary. That success last year was a second straight Grade 1 victory, as she had warmed up for the Diana with a victory in the Coolmore Jenny Wiley Stakes. However, she wasn’t able to end the season with a perfect record, as she was beaten narrowly in the Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf.

Mean Mary could return for a second attempt at the Diana, as defeat in last year’s renewal was the first defeat that she had suffered on the track. Prior to that defeat, she had won the Grade 2 New York Stakes and Grade 1 Orchid Stakes. The Graham Motion-trained horse ended the season with a seventh-place finish in the Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf.

The winner of that race at the Breeders’ Cup was Audarya for trainer James Fanshawe. It was the five-year-olds first start in America but was strong finishing to win by a neck. That was the second Grade 1 victory for Audarya last season, as she had previously won the Group 1 Darley Prix Jean Romanet at Deauville despite being set off at odds of 48/1. A return to America could be on the cards this season.

Sistercharlie is also still in training and could return for a fourth attempt at the Diana. She won this race in 2018 and 2019 but finished third in the 2020 running of the race. No horse in the history of the Diana Stakes has won three times, but this seven-year-old certainly has the quality to break that record.

Diana Stakes History

This race is one of the most prestigious on the turf in the United States, and it has been competed on since 1939. It was named after the mythological goddess Diana. It wasn’t until 2003 when this race was upgraded to a Grade 1. Throughout its early history between 1939 and 1973, the Diana Stakes took place on dirt. It was also competed at Belmont Park for two years between 1943 and 1945 due to World War 2.

Repeat winners of the Diana have been common throughout its history, as eight horses have recorded two victories. Miss Grillo was the first to achieve the feat, as she won in 1946 and 1947. Searching, Tempted, and Shuvee all achieved multiple victories between 1956 and 1971. Hush Dear and Glowing Honor both won two Diana’s apiece in the 80s, while Forever Together won back-to-back titles in 2008 and 2009. The most recent horse to have won two Diana Stakes was Sistercharlie, who won in 2018 and 2019.

John Velazquez is the most successful jockey in the Diana Stakes, as he has won on six occasions. Trainer Chad Brown has also recorded the same number of winners, with his sixth success coming last year with Rushing Fall.

Diana Stakes Betting Information

All of the leading sportsbooks will offer prices for the Diana Stakes. The betting markets that you will be able to find with the leading sites can be found below:

  • Win: Gamblers can place a wager on the horse that will win the Diana Stakes. Returns will be awarded if your selection finishes first.

  • Place: Instead of betting on the win, gamblers can wager on a horse to finish in a place position in the Diana Stakes.

  • Trifecta: The most difficult betting market available for the Diana Stakes is the trifecta. Here, you must bet on the first three horses in the correct finishing order.